Unleash 4.22: Maintenance mode, collaboration modes, feature export/import, and notifications

Unleash 4.22 is live. This month’s theme is collaboration.

Take control of configuration and API changes with maintenance mode

Administrators of Unleash instances can now turn on maintenance mode. 

 

Maintenance mode can be useful for high-stakes situations where you’d prefer tighter control over feature changes and strategy configurations.

While maintenance mode is activated, Unleash users will temporary lose the ability to:

  • change configuration settings
  • persist any changes to Unleash APIs

Don’t worry, you’ll still be able to read flag configurations. SDKs, proxies, and Edge will all still function exactly as they would normally. Metrics sent to Unleash from your SDKs will still be processed.

Read more about our new maintenance mode in our awesome documentation.

Custom-fit change requests to your team’s culture with project collaboration modes

You can now select a collaboration mode to set a general rule on who can submit change requests. 

Choose how your team collaborates on change requests with collaboration modes

 

In open collaboration mode, all users of your instance can submit change requests. This is the default collaboration mode of Unleash. 

If you’ve used earlier versions of Unleash from version 4.19, you should be familiar with open collaboration mode already: It’s exactly the same as before.

Protected collaboration mode means only admins and project members can submit change requests. 

Change requests created before you switch to protected collaboration mode won’t be deleted. However, if a user isn’t a project member or admin, they won’t be able to update the change request 

More on collaboration modes in our simple, but thorough, documentation.

Move your feature flags between instances while preserving feature configurations

The environment export/import functionality in Unleash simplifies the process of moving feature flags between multiple instances. It also makes it easier to move feature flags within a single instance between environments. 

Move features between environments

When a flag is moved using export/import, you’ll be able to preserve your feature configurations. This way all your environments remain consistent. 

You can also use this new functionality when, for example, migrating from open-source to Enterprise versions of Unleash.

Before you complete a feature import, you’ll conduct a validation step that will correct errors on the way.

Read how it works in our lovely docs.

Stay up to speed with notifications

Here’s a nice one for our Pro and Enterprise users: When someone on your team conducts an event like change requests, you’ll receive a short, clickable notification.

Notifications keep you up to speed on notable events

The events that will trigger a notification include: 

  • creating a new feature,
  • archiving a feature,
  • turning on a feature in an environment,
  • submitting a change request,
  • approving a change request, and
  • applying a change request.

More on notifications can be found in our documentation

And those are 4.22’s major features. This release does come with a number of features in beta, as well as project-level access tokens.

Read more in our release notes.

Share this article